Man Utd top scorers 2024/25: Hojlund hoping to match Rooney feat

Carlo Garganese
Carlo Garganese
  • Updated: 8 Jul 2024 11:20 CDT
  • 5 min read
Rasmus Hojlund, Man Utd, 2023/24

Manchester United enter the 2024/25 season with mixed emotions, as Erik ten Hag continues as manager for a third campaign with the club.

After finishing third in the Premier League and winning the Carabao Cup in the Dutchman's first season, optimism was high going into last year.

Article continues under the video

However, a desperately disappointing campaign saw United end up in eighth place, their worst finish in the Premier League era.

READ MORE: Premier League 2024/25 Top Scorers

Man Utd had also slumped to a group-stage exit in the Champions League, but they earned a brilliant win over rivals Manchester City in the FA Cup final at Wembley to end last season on a huge high. It was a result that earned Ten Hag a second trophy and allowed him to keep his job.

Still, United appear to be a long way from topping Man City over a full league season, as they desperately hope to end an 11-year title drought soon.

Rasmus Hojlund was the top scorer for Man Utd last season, scoring 10 goals in the Premier League and striking 16 times in all competitions.

That was a much lower winning goal total than the previous season, when Marcus Rashford netted 16 top-flight goals and a stunning 30 goals overall.

READ MORE: European Golden Shoe 2024/25 Standings

But the England forward struggled badly in 2023/24, as did many of the other Man Utd attackers, allowing Hojlund to top the club’s scoring standings in his first season ahead of captain Bruno Fernandes.

Wayne Rooney was the last Man Utd player to finish as their top goalscorer for two consecutive seasons, doing so in 2013/14 and 2014/15.

So, with a full season in English football now under his belt, Hojlund has a chance to make history in 2024/25 if he is named the leading Man Utd goalscorer.

READ MORE: Champions League 2024/25 Top Scorers

Fernandes, Rashford, Scott McTominay and Alejandro Garnacho are among the players who may challenge him for the honour.

Man Utd: Premier League top scorers 2024/25

This page will be updated with Manchester United’s top scorers in the Premier League and all competitions after every matchday this season.

Man Utd top scorers in all competitions 2024/25

As well as the Premier League, a busy season for Man Utd will include them playing in the Europa League, FA Cup, Carabao Cup and Community Shield.

Man Utd next fixtures

Man Utd will kick off their 2024/25 season with the Community Shield against rivals Man City at Wembley.

That game between the Premier League and FA Cup winners will take place on August 10.

Man Utd fixtures for 2024/25 also include their Premier League opener, at home to Fulham on August 16. That is a Friday night clash that will also kick off the entire EPL season.

United stars will therefore have an early chance to top the overall EPL scoring standings as well as these club rankings.

Man Utd: Top scorers by season

Season Player (Number of wins)Goals
2023/24Rasmus Hojlund (1)16
2022/23Marcus Rashford (1)30
2021/22Cristiano Ronaldo (4)24
2020/21Bruno Fernandes (1)28
2019/20Anthony Martial (2)23
2018/19Paul Pogba (1)16
2017/18Romelu Lukaku (1)27
2016/17Zlatan Ibrahimovic (1)28
2015/16Anthony Martial (1)17
2014/15Wayne Rooney (6)14
2013/14Wayne Rooney (5)19
2012/13Robin van Persie (1)30
2011/12Wayne Rooney (4)34
2010/11Dimitar Berbatov (1)21
2009/10Wayne Rooney (3)34
2008/09Cristiano Ronaldo (3)26
2007/08Cristiano Ronaldo (2)42
2006/07Ronaldo (1) and Rooney (2)23 each
2005/06Ruud van Nistelrooy (4)24
2004/05Wayne Rooney (1)17
2003/04Ruud van Nistelrooy (3)30
2002/03Ruud van Nistelrooy (2)44
2001/02Ruud van Nistelrooy (1)36

A winning total of 16 goals for Rasmus Hojlund in the 2023/24 Man Utd scoring standings was the lowest since Paul Pogba also topped the charts with 16 strikes in 2018/19.

The last Man Utd player to score more than Marcus Rashford’s goal total (30) from 2022/23 was Wayne Rooney, who netted a staggering 34 times in the 2011/12 season.

Cristiano Ronaldo is the previous Man Utd attacker to have scored more than 40 goals in a season. He had 42 in 2007-08 as the club won the Premier League and Champions League trophies. Ronaldo had 31 EPL goals that year, which is the club record in that competition.

Ruud van Nistelrooy scored a stunning 44 goals in 2002-03 but the all-time single-season record is held by Denis Law, who scored 46 goals in 1963–64.

Even though his time at Man Utd was heavily impacted by injuries, Anthony Martial has been the top scorer twice.

The prolific Van Nistelrooy was top of the Man Utd scoring charts in four separate seasons, which is the same total achieved by Ronaldo.

CR7 did it three times in his first spell at the club, and was then top scorer in 2021/22 after returning to Old Trafford, although his second period with the club ultimately ended abruptly prior to him joining Al-Nassr.

But it is Rooney who fares best. He topped the Manchester United scoring charts six times in a magnificent career at Old Trafford.

Which Man Utd players have won the Premier League Golden Boot?

Manchester United players have won the Premier League Golden Boot on five separate occasions, though the club have not had a winner sine 2013, which is also the last time they won the title.

Robin van Persie was the previous Man Utd winner in that 2012-13 title-winning season. It was his second Golden Boot in a row, but his first had come with Arsenal.

Dimitar Berbatov, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Dwight Yorke are the other Manchester United players who have won the Premier League Golden Boot.

Man Utd: EPL Golden Boot winners

Season WinnerGoals
2012/13Robin van Persie26
2010/11Dimitar Berbatov20
2007/08Cristiano Ronaldo31
2002/03Ruud van Nistelrooy25
1998/99Dwight Yorke18

When Berbatov won, he shared the award with former Man Utd striker Carlos Tevez, while Yorke’s success was shared with Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink and Michael Owen.

Van Persie, Ronaldo and Van Nistelrooy all won the title outright.

Despite being a prolific forward for Man Utd, Wayne Rooney never won the EPL Golden Boot

Manchester United all-time top scorers

1. Wayne Rooney253559
2. Bobby Charlton249758
3. Denis Law237404

Wayne Rooney is the all-time Man Utd top scorer with 253 goals. He netted 183 times in the Premier League and on 70 occasions across other competitions.

He beat the previous record held by club legend Bobby Charlton (249 goals), while Denis Law is in third place with 237 goals.

Don’t miss the next big transfer!

Get the latest transfer insights and analyses directly in your mailbox.