Gareth Southgate announces expanded England Euro 2020 squad

Cameron Smith
Cameron Smith Updated: 27 May 2021 10:17 BST 6 min read
Gareth Southgate announces expanded England Euro 2020 squad

England manager Gareth Southgate has announced his initial Three Lions squad for this summer’s European Championships.

It emerged on Monday that Southgate would not be revealing his final 26-man squad just yet, and instead would announce an expanded training squad before reducing it down.

READ MORE: Hansi Flick confirmed as Germany boss and will take over after Euro 2020

It’s believed that this is the case so Southgate can assess the fitness of injured players such as Jordan Henderson, and Harry Maguire, as well as allow the Europa League and Champions League finals to be played out in case of any further injuries from English players there.

The Three Lions manager will then need to trim his squad down to a final 26 names by 11pm (BST) on June 1, 10 days before the tournament kicks off.

But who is in the provisional squad?

Unsurprisingly, talisman and captain Harry Kane is in the squad and barring injury, will likely play every minute in the tournament. He is joined by Aston Villa’s Ollie Watkins and Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin as number nine options for Southgate.

The aforementioned Henderson, and Maguire both make the squad, but, with Maguire in particular, thorough assessments into their fitness will need to be completed.

Aaron Ramsdale, Ben Godfrey, and Ben White all make the squad for the very first time.

Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson and Trent Alexander-Arnold are back in the squad after missing March’s 2022 World Cup qualifiers. Jack Grealish and Jadon Sancho also return.

More than a third of the squad are unable to join the squad right now due to their involvement in either the Europa League or Champions League final.

England’s 33 man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham, on loan from Manchester United), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Who has missed out?

Tottenham’s Eric Dier has been a favourite of Southgate’s in recent times, but his lack of football has counted against him. Unfortunately for Fikayo Tomori, Lewis Dunk and Ezri Konsa, amongst others, they haven’t been selected despite playing regularly, and well, for their respective clubs.

Patrick Bamford, who scored 17 Premier League goals for Leeds this season, misses out.

Most Read