World Cup 2022 top scorers: Mbappe wins Golden Boot with final hattrick

Carlo Garganese
Carlo Garganese
  • Updated: 18 Dec 2022 18:12 GMT
  • 7 min read
Kylian Mbappe, France, World Cup 2022
© ProShots

Kylian Mbappe won the World Cup 2022 Golden Boot with eight goals, beating Lionel Messi to the prize after a thrilling World Cup final.

Mbappe became the first player since 1966 to score a hat-trick in a World Cup final in a thrilling 3-3 draw after extra time, which Argentina eventually won 4-2 on penalties.

Article continues under the video

That treble took him on to eight goals for the tournament, one more than Messi.

Messi scored twice himself in the final, once with a penalty and then again in extra time.

Julian Alvarez and Olivier Giroud finished on four goals, with neither making a mark on the final.

A group of seven players, including Cody Gakpo, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka and Goncalo Ramos all ended on three goals.

On Saturday, the third-placed playoff between Croatia and Morocco saw the European side run out 2-1 winners. All the scorers in the game had previously drawn a blank in the competition.

Josko Gvardiol, whose performances have made him a target for some major clubs, headed the opener only for it to be cancelled out by Achraf Dari. Dynamo Kyiv's Mislav Orsic scored a brilliant winner with a shot from a tight angle.

World Cup 2022 most assists

World Cup 2022: Teams, fixtures, results, favourites

World Cup all-time top scorers

Ronaldo vs Messi at the World Cup: How their stats, goals, assists and performances compare

Who won the 2022 World Cup Golden Boot?

The final Golden Boot standings in Qatar are as follows:

Most goals in World Cup 2022

Kylian MbappeFrance8
Lionel MessiArgentina7
Julian AlvarezArgentina4
Olivier GiroudFrance4
Goncalo RamosPortugal3
Alvaro MorataSpain3
Marcus RashfordEngland3
Bukayo SakaEngland3
Enner ValenciaEcuador3
Cody GakpoNetherlands3
Harry KaneEngland2
Rafael LeaoPortugal2
Breel EmboloSwitzerland2
Vincent AboubakarCameroon2
Aleksandar MitrovicSerbia2
Giorgian de ArrascaetaUruguay2
Ritsu DoanJapan2
Ferran TorresSpain2
Niclas FullkrugGermany2
Mehdi TaremiIran2
Andrej KramaricCroatia2
Mohammed KudusGhana2
Cho Gue-sungSouth Korea2
Salem Al DawsariSaudi Arabia2
Wout WeghorstNetherlands2
Youssef En-NesyriMorocco2
Nahuel MolinaArgentina1
Raphael GuerreiroPortugal1
Memphis DepayNetherlands1
Daley BlindNetherlands1
Denzel DumfriesNetherlands1
Haji WrightUSA1
Xherdan ShaqiriSwitzerland1
Remo FreulerSwitzerland1
Hwang Hee-chanSouth Korea1
Kim Young-gwonSouth Korea1
Lucas PaquetaBrazil1
Vinicius JrBrazil1
Dusan VlahovicSerbia1
Ricardo HortaPortugal1
Phil FodenEngland1
Jordan HendersonEngland1
Daizen MaedaJapan1
Paik Seung-HoSouth Korea1
Ivan PerisicCroatia1
Robert LewandowskiPoland1
Piotr ZielinskiPoland1
Mitchell DukeAustralia1
Mathew LeckieAustralia1
Dani OlmoSpain1
Marco AsensioSpain1
Carlos SolerSpain1
Alexis MacAllisterArgentina1
Enzo FernandezArgentina1
Michy BatshuayiBelgium1
Cristiano RonaldoPortugal1
Joao FelixPortugal1
Ao TanakaJapan1
Andre AyewGhana1
Osman BukariGhana1
Adrien RabiotFrance1
Craig GoodwinAustralia1
Gareth BaleWales1
Timothy WeahUSA1
Davy KlaassenNetherlands1
Serge GnabryGermany1
Frenkie de JongNetherlands1
Jude BellinghamEngland1
Raheem SterlingEngland1
Jack GrealishEngland1
Christian PulisicUSA1
Moises CaicedoEcuador1
Saleh Al-ShehriSaudi Arabia1
Ilkay GundoganGermany1
Rouzbeh CheshmiIran1
Ramin RezaeianIran1
Boulaye DiaSenegal1
Famara DiedhouSenegal1
Ismaila SarrSenegal1
Kalidou KoulibalySenegal1
Mohamed SalisuGhana1
Sergej Milinkovic-SavicSerbia1
Strahinja PavlovicSerbia1
Eric Maxim Chupo-MotingCameroon1
Jean-Charles CastellettoCameroon1
Bamba DiengSenegal1
Mohammed MuntariQatar1
Takuma AsanoJapan1
Romain SaissMorocco1
Zakaria AboukhlalMorocco1
Hakim ZiyechMorocco1
Lovro MajerCroatia1
Bruno PetkovicCroatia1
Marko LivajaCroatia1
Alphonso DaviesCanada1
Keysher FullerCosta Rica1
Wahbi KhazriTunisia1
Henry MartinMexico1
Luis ChavezMexico1
Aurelien TchouameniFrance1
Theo HernandezFrance1
Randal Kolo MuaniFrance1
Angel Di MariaArgentina1
Josko GvardiolCroatia1
Mislav OrsicCroatia1
Achraf DariMorocco1
Enner Valencia slotting home the first goal of the tournament
© ProShots - Enner Valencia slotting home the first goal of the tournament

The 2022 World Cup Golden Boot was always set to be fiercely contested, with a host of top-class players in the running to finish top scorer.

England talisman Kane went into the World Cup as favourite to win the Golden Boot.

The Spurs striker finished top scorer at Russia 2018, finding the back of the net six times as England reached the semi-finals. He only scored twice in Qatar.

France won the 2018 World Cup, partly thanks to the brilliance of Mbappe. The PSG superstar went in as second favourite to become top-scorer in Qatar.

Can Mbappe lead France to glory again?
© ProShots - Can Mbappe lead France to glory again?

Karim Benzema was third favourite to win the Golden Boot but was ruled out of the tournament with injury just days before it got underway.

Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo both played in their fifth World Cups, looking to crown their legendary careers by not only winning the tournament but by also claiming the Golden Boot. Ronaldo was eliminated after scoring just one goal.

World Cup Golden Boot Winners

1930Guillermo Stabile (Argentina)8
1934Oldrich Nejedly (Czechoslovakia)5
1938Leonidas (Brazil)7
1950Ademir (Brazil)8
1954Sandor Kocsis (Hungary)11
1958Just Fontaine (France)13
1962Six players*4
1966Eusebio (Portugal)9
1970Gerd Muller (West Germany)10
1974Grzegorz Lato (Poland)7
1978Mario Kempes (Argentina)6
1982Paolo Rossi (Italy)6
1986Gary Lineker (England)6
1990Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)6
1994Oleg Salenko (Russia) & Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)6
1998Davor Suker (Croatia)6
2002Ronaldo (Brazil)8
2006Miroslav Klose (Germany)5
2010Thomas Muller (Germany)5
2014James Rodriguez (Colombia)6
2018Harry Kane (England)6
2022Kylian Mbappe (France)8

*The six players who all top-scored with four goals in 1962 were Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Vava and Garrincha (Brazil), Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia) and Leonel Sanchez (Chile).

Germany legend Miroslav Klose is the World Cup all-time top scorer with 16 goals.

He is followed by Brazil legend Ronaldo with 15 goals, Gerd Muller with 14, Just Fontaine with 13 and Mbappe and Pele with 12.

What are the World Cup Golden Boot tiebreaker rules?

If two or more players finish level on goals at the top of the standings, the Golden Boot goes to the player with the most assists.

We have the final standings for top assists at the 2022 World Cup and you can check them out by clicking here.

Never miss the next big transfer!

Get the latest transfer insights and analyses directly in your mailbox.