Lewandowski and Germany’s Top 10 players of the season

Carlo Garganese

Robert Lewandowski has been named Germany’s Footballer of the Year, beating off competition from Thomas Muller and Erling Haaland to win the prize.

It is the second year in a row that Lewandowski has taken the honour, this time claiming the trophy after a record-breaking season in which he scored 41 Bundesliga goals in just 29 games to break Gerd Muller’s long-time scoring record.

Lewandowski’s exploits for Bayern Munich saw his team win a ninth straight Bundesliga title, while they also won the DFL-Supercup, the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup.

They may have also lifted a second successive Champions League had Lewandowski not missed the quarter-final exit to PSG on away goals due to injury.


Lewandowski, who has been heavily linked with a summer transfer to Chelsea, was voted as Player of the Year by members of the Association of German Sports Journalists (VDS). He won by a landslide, claiming 356 of the 563 votes.

What did Lewandowski say about winning German Footballer of the Year?

"I know how big an honour this is," Lewandowski told Kicker.

"It fills me with so much pride and joy because you don't often get named Player of the Year twice in a row in Germany."

"There was never any doubt that Lewy would win this award this year," added the striker’s former Bayern Munich coach Hansi Flick, who has left the club to take over as coach of the Germany national team.

Also on the podium were Lewandowski’s team-mate Thomas Muller, who had more assists (18) than anyone else in the Bundesliga, and Dortmund wonderkid Haaland, who scored 27 goals in just 28 league games.

The full top 10 German players last season is listed below, together with the number of votes they received.

Top 10 German Players of the Season

1. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) - 356

2. Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich) - 41

3. Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund) - 38

4. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich) - 25

5. Kai Havertz (Chelsea & Germany) - 17

6. Robin Gosens (Atalanta & Germany) - 13

= Timo Werner (RB Leipzig & Chelsea) - 13

8. Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich) - 10

9. Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City) - 9

10. Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund) - 5